Apple's September 2026 event: everything announced (and what it means for you)
iPhone 18 Pro, the foldable iPhone Duo, Apple Watch Series 12 and Ultra 4, and AirPods 5: what changed, which features matter, and what South African buyers should check before choosing.
9 September 2026 · Apple launch guide
Apple's September event brought new Pro iPhones, its first folding iPhone, two updated Watch families, and AirPods with noise cancellation across both versions. The useful question is not which model sits at the top of the range, but which changes will make a difference to how you work, create, train or travel.
We'll be stocking the new lineup. Our exact configurations and South African timing are still to be confirmed; the range below describes what Apple announced, not a promise that every finish or accessory will be in our initial selection.
iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max: camera control is the main change
The change from iPhone 17 Pro is more specific than a new chip name. The 48MP Main camera gains a variable aperture, with four selectable settings from ƒ/1.48 to ƒ/4.0. That gives photographers a physical way to vary light intake and depth of field. New Pro controls bring aperture, shutter speed, white balance and a histogram into the Camera app.
Apple also introduces Apple Reference Image: an opt-in capture mode that uses signed sensor data and Private Cloud Compute to develop a reference image for comparison with an edited photo. It is an authenticity aid, not a guarantee that a photographed scene tells the whole story. Capture availability has regional restrictions at launch.
Both phones use A20 Pro, with a 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU and Dual 16-core Neural Engine, plus a redesigned vapour chamber. Apple says the changes improve sustained performance; we have not independently tested them. The smaller Dynamic Island can show up to three Live Activities. Apple's C2 cellular modem is new, while the N1 networking chip continues to provide Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6 and Thread.
What did not change: the 6.3-inch and 6.9-inch display sizes, ProMotion up to 120Hz, 3000-nit peak outdoor brightness, aluminium construction and three-camera 48MP layout all have iPhone 17 Pro precedent. The telephoto remains a 4x lens with an 8x optical-quality option; do not read that as an 8x optical lens. USB-C supports DisplayPort and USB 3 up to 10Gb/s — an interface ceiling, not a guaranteed file-transfer rate.
Which Pro iPhone should you buy?
| Specification | iPhone 18 Pro | iPhone 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.3-inch OLED; 2622 × 1206 | 6.9-inch OLED; 2868 × 1320 |
| Refresh / brightness | Up to 120Hz; 3000 nits peak outdoors | Up to 120Hz; 3000 nits peak outdoors |
| Storage options | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB |
| Rear cameras | 48MP Main with variable aperture; 48MP Ultra Wide; 48MP 4x Telephoto | Same camera specification as Pro |
| Front camera / authentication | 18MP Center Stage / Face ID | 18MP Center Stage / Face ID |
| Apple video-playback rating | Up to 36 hours — eSIM-only model | Up to 45 hours — eSIM-only model |
| Body weight — US specification | 211g | 249g |
| Finishes | Black, Silver, Glacier, Burgundy | Black, Silver, Glacier, Burgundy |
Our take: choose Pro for the same camera tools in a smaller body. Choose Pro Max if a larger viewfinder, reading area or longer battery rating matters more than pocket size and weight. The smaller Pro now also reaches 2TB; that is no longer a reason on its own to choose Max. Start with your present storage use and leave room for future photos, games and offline media. Frequent high-bitrate video recording is a stronger reason to move up a storage tier than ordinary messaging or browsing.
Apple does not state iPhone RAM capacity in the specifications we checked, so we are not filling that gap with rumours. The battery figures above are Apple's July 2026 preproduction video-playback tests, not a full day of mixed use. US Pro models are eSIM-only; regional SIM hardware, radio bands and battery ratings can differ. We will identify our supplied regional variants when our listings are live. Fast charging needs a suitable adapter and cable; the headline wired result requires a 60W-capable adapter with Adjustable Voltage Supply.
iPhone Duo: choose it for the folding screen, not a better Pro camera

There is no previous iPhone Duo to replace. Apple's first folding iPhone pairs a 7.6-inch inner OLED with a 5.4-inch outer OLED, both with ProMotion up to 120Hz and 3000-nit peak outdoor brightness. The inner screen has a matte nano-texture finish. Finishes are Night Sky and Star White, with a titanium enclosure.
A20 Pro, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, Thread and C2 cellular are shared with the new Pro phones. The reason to consider Duo is Split View: two apps side by side, two windows of a supported app, and saved app pairs. Reviewing a document next to a conversation, checking a reference while writing, and seeing shared content alongside a video call are practical uses for the extra space. The outer display can also show a preview to the person being photographed.
Which should you buy: Duo or Pro Max?
| Specification | iPhone Duo | iPhone 18 Pro Max |
|---|---|---|
| Screen arrangement | 7.6-inch folding inner + 5.4-inch outer | One 6.9-inch display |
| Chip / storage | A20 Pro / 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB | A20 Pro / 256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB |
| Main camera | 48MP, fixed ƒ/1.6 aperture | 48MP, variable ƒ/1.48–ƒ/4.0 aperture |
| Additional rear cameras | 48MP Ultra Wide; 2x optical-quality crop from Main | 48MP Ultra Wide + dedicated 48MP 4x Telephoto |
| Authentication | Touch ID in side button | Face ID |
| USB-C | DisplayPort; USB 3 up to 10Gb/s | DisplayPort; USB 3 up to 10Gb/s |
| Body weight / thickness | 254g; 5.2mm open, 11.3mm closed | 249g; 8.75mm |
| Apple video-playback rating | Up to 31 hours inner / 44 hours outer | Up to 45 hours — eSIM-only model |
Our take: consider Duo if you will regularly use two apps at once and want to keep that workflow in a phone. Pro Max is the more direct choice if the telephoto lens, variable aperture or ProRes recording is the point of the upgrade. Duo's specifications list HEVC and H.264 video, rather than the Pro's ProRes formats.
Check before committing: Duo is eSIM-only worldwide, uses Touch ID rather than Face ID, and ships later with iOS 27.1. Third-party app layouts will depend on developer support. Apple Pencil (USB-C) support is promised later this year, not as a day-one feature. The folding display uses a different protective construction from the outer glass; an IP68 laboratory rating is not permission to treat the hinge or inner screen carelessly. We have no long-term durability testing to add to Apple's claims.
The two Duo battery figures describe different displays in Apple's July 2026 video-playback tests. They should not be added together or treated as a mixed-use result. RAM is not specified in the official pages checked.
Apple Watch Series 12: new sensing, familiar everyday battery life

The change from Series 11 is the S11 chip and Health Sensing System, not a larger headline everyday battery figure. Apple says the new optical and electrical sensors measure heart rate every five seconds and heart-rate variability as often as every five minutes. These readings feed Recovery HRV, daytime Vitals and a new 0–10 Readiness score.
Aluminium models replace Ion-X glass with Ceramic Shield 2. The standard aluminium and titanium cases remain 42mm or 46mm. Apple's formal dimensions list the ceramic versions at 43mm and 47mm, even though the range is promoted around nominal 42mm/46mm sizing; check the exact case and band compatibility rather than assuming all materials are identical.
The display remains an always-on LTPO3 OLED with 2000-nit peak brightness; storage stays at 64GB. Apple's everyday battery rating remains up to 24 hours, with up to 38 hours in Low Power Mode. The changes include up to 10 hours of outdoor-workout tracking and a 15-minute charge providing up to 12 hours of normal use. These are Apple ratings under specified conditions, not guarantees for every routine.
Aluminium finishes are Dark Bronze, Black, Light Gold and Space Gray; titanium comes in Radiant Gold or Natural; ceramic comes in Pearl White or Night Blue. Aluminium offers GPS or GPS + Cellular, while titanium and ceramic use GPS + Cellular. Wi-Fi remains 802.11n and Bluetooth remains 5.3. Cellular support, including 5G RedCap, depends on the regional watch and a participating carrier.
Our take: Series 12 is the starting point for everyday notifications, sleep tracking, gym sessions and running without the bulk of an Ultra. Choose case size for readability and comfort, particularly if you intend to sleep in it. A working Series 11 does not become obsolete: its 24-hour everyday battery rating and many existing health features remain relevant. The new sensing system is the more meaningful reason to consider an upgrade.
Apple Watch Ultra 4: more endurance, with mode-specific trade-offs

Ultra 4 shares Series 12's S11 chip, new sensors and Readiness experience. Its distinction is endurance and outdoor hardware: one 49mm titanium size in Natural or Black, a 3000-nit always-on display, dual-frequency GPS, Action button, siren and 64GB storage.
Apple now rates everyday battery life at up to 50 hours and Low Power Mode at up to 84 hours. Ultra 3's published ratings were up to 42 and 72 hours respectively. Satellite communications and 5G were already present on Ultra 3; they should not be mistaken for new Ultra 4 capabilities or assumed to work in South Africa.
Do not confuse the workout modes. The formal specification lists up to 18 hours of outdoor workouts, up to 25 hours in Extended Workout, and up to 45 hours in Max Extended Workout. Extended Workout uses Low Power Mode and omits running-form metrics. Max Extended Workout also disables alerts and splits, with certain metrics unavailable. The longest figure is not full-featured tracking for 45 hours.
Which Apple Watch should you buy?
| Specification | Series 12 — smaller | Series 12 — larger | Ultra 4 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Case size | 42mm aluminium/titanium; 43mm ceramic | 46mm aluminium/titanium; 47mm ceramic | 49mm titanium |
| Display | 374 × 446; 2000 nits peak | 416 × 496; 2000 nits peak | 422 × 514; 3000 nits peak |
| Chip / storage | S11 / 64GB | S11 / 64GB | S11 / 64GB |
| GPS | L1 | L1 | Dual-frequency |
| Connectivity choice | GPS or GPS + Cellular in aluminium; cellular in other materials | GPS or GPS + Cellular in aluminium; cellular in other materials | GPS + Cellular; satellite features subject to region |
| Normal-use battery | Up to 24 hours | Up to 24 hours | Up to 50 hours |
| Water-resistance rating | 50m; shallow-water use | 50m; shallow-water use | 100m; recreational diving to 40m with appropriate app |
Our take: choose Ultra for long outings, navigation controls and less frequent charging — if the 49mm body suits your wrist. Choose Series 12 if you want the same new sensing platform in a smaller watch. A water-resistance rating is not a safe diving depth: Series 12 is not a scuba watch, and Ultra's recreational-diving limit is 40m, not 100m.
Current Watch battery and charging tests were conducted by Apple in July and August 2026 on preproduction devices; the Ultra 3 baseline comes from its 2025 launch material. Both new watches require a compatible iPhone running iOS 27 or later. Apple Intelligence features have additional paired-iPhone, language and regional requirements. Cellular plans, satellite coverage and regulated health features must be checked for the specific South African configuration. Wellness readings are not a diagnosis or a substitute for clinical advice.
AirPods 5: both versions now have noise cancellation

The simplest change from AirPods 4 is that both AirPods 5 versions have Active Noise Cancellation. Apple has revised the acoustic design and Adaptive EQ, while keeping the H2 headphone chip and Bluetooth 5.3. Dust, sweat and water resistance moves from IP54 to IP57; that is not a claim that they are swimming headphones.
Both versions include Adaptive Audio, Transparency, Conversation Awareness and supported Live Translation. The Wireless Charging Case version also adds on-stem volume swipe and a longer battery rating — this is not merely the same earphones bundled with a different charging box.
Which AirPods 5 should you buy?
| Specification | AirPods 5 | AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case |
|---|---|---|
| Chip / connection | H2 / Bluetooth 5.3 | H2 / Bluetooth 5.3 |
| ANC / listening modes | ANC, Adaptive Audio, Transparency, Conversation Awareness | Same listening modes |
| Volume swipe on stem | No | Yes |
| Case charging | USB-C | USB-C, Apple Watch charger or Qi-certified charger |
| Find My case speaker | Not listed for this case | Yes |
| Single-charge listening | Up to 4 hours with ANC | Up to 5 hours with ANC |
| Listening including case | Up to 20 hours with ANC | Up to 22 hours with ANC |
| Finish / resistance | White / IP57 | White / IP57 |
Our take: choose the USB-C version if wired charging suits you and your listening sessions are shorter. Choose the wireless-case version for stem volume control, wireless charging and the additional rated listening time. Neither changes the open-ear fit; whether that fit works for your ears matters as much as the feature list.
Apple tested AirPods 5 battery life in July and August 2026 using preproduction devices paired with iPhone 18 Pro, ANC on, volume at 50%, and Spatial Audio and Conversation Awareness off. Do not compare those figures directly with ANC-off ratings from older AirPods. Live Translation and Siri AI require compatible Apple hardware, current software/firmware and supported languages and regions. Ordinary Bluetooth audio can work with non-Apple devices, but not the complete feature set. These are not AirPods Pro 3, and no heart-rate-sensor claim is made for AirPods 5.
Accessories and Hermès editions: check the exact fit
The event also refreshed cases, straps and Watch bands. These are announced options, not a confirmed list of what we will carry. Check phone model, case size, band length and attachment compatibility before choosing.
| Accessory | What to check |
|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro / Pro Max TechWoven Case with MagSafe | Black, Chambray Blue, Taupe, Olive, Mulberry, Burgundy. Select the exact Pro or Pro Max fit. |
| iPhone 18 Pro / Pro Max Clear Case with MagSafe | Clear finish; updated design supports Crossbody Strap and Wrist Strap. |
| iPhone 18 Pro / Pro Max Silicone Case with MagSafe | Black, Navy Blue, Crisp Blue, Olive, Burgundy, Magenta. Model-specific fit. |
| FineWoven Wallet with MagSafe new colours | Black, Navy Blue, Wildflower Blue, Olive, Magenta, Burgundy. |
| Wrist Strap | Black, Taupe, Olive, Crisp Blue, Magenta, Burgundy; check the attachment and device/case compatibility. |
| Crossbody Strap new colours | Black, Navy Blue, Taupe, Sand, Olive, Crisp Blue, Magenta, Burgundy, Light Gray; needs a compatible case. |
| iPhone Duo Case | Two-part design in Navy Blue or Sand; MagSafe and compatible wireless charging. |
| iPhone Duo Folio with Kickstand | Navy Blue or Taupe; integrated adjustable stand and compatible wireless charging. |
| Apple Watch autumn band collection | New Sport Band, Sport Loop and Nike colours; plaid Sport Loops; Radiant Gold and Dark Bronze Milanese Loop; a new woven Modern Buckle. |
| Apple Watch Ultra Trail Loop / Alpine Loop / translucent Ocean Band collection | Trail Loop: Dark Umber, Sand, Burgundy. Alpine Loop: Desert, Dark Olive, Burgundy. Ocean Band: Translucent Gray, Translucent Kelp, Translucent Black. |
Apple Watch Hermès Series 12 adds Radiant Gold titanium alongside exclusive Silver titanium, with a Noir satin Clou de Selle option and the new Rocabar Club band. Apple Watch Hermès Ultra 4 is offered in Natural titanium; its new Grand H titanium band has a built-in extension for a wetsuit, and the watch adds the Fathom and Wonder face. These are finish, band and watch-face choices rather than a separate faster computing platform.
Software and health: separate launch-day features from promises
iOS 27 and watchOS 27 arrive on 14 September. Siri AI begins rolling out in beta in English on supported devices, with additional named languages due in October. It is not initially available in the EU on iOS, iPadOS or watchOS. Some server-side Apple Intelligence features have daily usage limits; buying a newer device does not mean every feature works everywhere or entirely on-device.
Apple's separate health announcement covers a redesigned Health app, due later this year starting in US English on Apple Intelligence-enabled iPhone and iPad models. New Insights and Longevity tabs include Health Age, personalised explanations and movement evaluations. Health Age requires Apple Watch, and some assessments have additional sensor requirements. Quest Diagnostics lab ordering is a US service — it is not an announced South African offering.
Cycle Tracking adds perimenopause and menopause support. Workout Buddy gains more fitness context and Spanish support, and can work without the iPhone nearby with the required network and paired-device setup. GymKit expands heart-rate sharing for AirPods Pro 3; that is a software update for an existing product, not a new AirPods Pro launch.
Audio Intelligence on the new watches includes Sound Recognition and Shazam, plus Live Rewind and Siri Recap, whose betas arrive later this year. Apple says these are opt-in features with isolated audio processing; Live Rewind provides a brief text snippet, while Siri Recap produces a high-level summary, not a full transcript. Review the permissions and local consent expectations before using conversation features around other people.
What was not announced: no base iPhone 18, new Mac or new iPad appeared in the event releases checked for this guide. Do not treat the product number, an operating-system update or a rumoured roadmap as confirmation of another hardware launch.
Availability: Apple's US dates, with South African timing to follow
| Product / update | US pre-orders / rollout | US availability |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max | 12 September 2026, 5am PT | 18 September 2026 |
| iPhone Duo | 16 October 2026, 5am PT | 23 October 2026 |
| Apple Watch Series 12 and Apple Watch Ultra 4 | 9 September 2026 | 18 September 2026 |
| AirPods 5 — both versions | 9 September 2026 | 18 September 2026 |
| New Apple Watch bands | 9 September 2026 | 18 September 2026 |
| iPhone Duo Case and Folio with Kickstand | Orders from 16 October 2026 | Separate in-store date not stated in the release |
| iOS 27 / watchOS 27; Siri AI beta rollout | 14 September 2026 | Compatible devices; feature and region restrictions |
| Redesigned Health app; Live Rewind / Siri Recap betas; Duo Apple Pencil support | Later in 2026 | No exact date announced |
Apple also names later international waves for the Pro iPhones and Duo, but those dates do not establish South African availability. We will confirm our local timing, regional variants, configurations and accessory selection when our product pages are ready.
Sources and reading notes
Checked against Apple's announcements, product pages and formal specifications on 9 September 2026. Previous-generation comparisons use the dated Apple releases or archived Apple Support specifications below. Battery figures describe Apple's own test conditions; we have not run independent performance, battery or durability tests. Tables show announced family options, not a confirmed local configuration list.
- iPhone 18 Pro announcementhttps://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/09/apple-debuts-iphone-18-pro-and-iphone-18-pro-max/
- iPhone 18 Pro specificationshttps://www.apple.com/iphone-18-pro/specs/
- iPhone 17 Pro announcement — previous-generation baselinehttps://www.apple.com/newsroom/2025/09/apple-unveils-iphone-17-pro-and-iphone-17-pro-max/
- iPhone Duo announcementhttps://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/09/apple-unveils-iphone-duo/
- iPhone Duo specificationshttps://www.apple.com/iphone-duo/specs/
- Apple Watch Series 12 announcementhttps://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/09/introducing-apple-watch-series-12-with-the-all-new-health-sensing-system/
- Apple Watch Series 12 specificationshttps://www.apple.com/apple-watch-series-12/specs/
- Apple Watch Series 11 specifications — previous-generation baselinehttps://support.apple.com/en-us/125093
- Apple Watch Ultra 4 announcementhttps://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/09/apple-unveils-apple-watch-ultra-4/
- Apple Watch Ultra 4 specificationshttps://www.apple.com/apple-watch-ultra-4/specs/
- Apple Watch Ultra 3 announcement — previous-generation baselinehttps://www.apple.com/newsroom/2025/09/introducing-apple-watch-ultra-3/
- AirPods 5 announcementhttps://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/09/apple-introduces-airpods-5-with-best-in-class-open-ear-active-noise-cancellation/
- AirPods 5 specificationshttps://www.apple.com/airpods-5/specs/
- AirPods 4 specifications — previous-generation baselinehttps://support.apple.com/en-us/121203
- AirPods 4 with ANC specifications — previous-generation baselinehttps://support.apple.com/en-us/121204
- Apple Intelligence health and fitness announcementhttps://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/09/apple-advances-health-and-fitness-capabilities-using-apple-intelligence/
- iPhone 18 Pro product overviewhttps://www.apple.com/iphone-18-pro/
- iPhone Duo product overviewhttps://www.apple.com/iphone-duo/
- Apple Watch Series 12 product overviewhttps://www.apple.com/apple-watch-series-12/
- Apple Watch Ultra 4 product overviewhttps://www.apple.com/apple-watch-ultra-4/
- AirPods 5 product overviewhttps://www.apple.com/airpods-5/